Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine (Eurographics Medical Prize)

The Eurographics Association organizes a biannual competition to acknowledge the contribution that computer graphics is playing in the medical field, and to encourage further development.

This year the Eurographics Medical Prize has been renamed to honor Dirk Bartz who passed away far too early in March 2010. Dirk Bartz was a highly recognized and enthusiastic scientist, teacher and promoter of Visual Computing in Medicine, an active member of the Eurographics Association, and Chair of the EG Medical Prize 2007 and 2009.


Submissions for the Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine 2011 are now being invited from researchers and developers who can demonstrate that a particular benefit has resulted from the use of computer graphics technology in a medical application that they have produced. Examples of entries could include the use of new data visualization techniques, interaction methods, or virtual/augmented environments.

A list of winners of the last years can be found here.

The Winners:

The judging panel will select the winning entry on the basis of its clinical value, use made of computer graphics, and novelty.

The top three winning entries of the Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine 2011 will receive a prize of €500, €300, and €200, and a free registration to the conference to present their projects and to receive the prize. The submission of the winning teams will be published in the “Short and Areas Papers and Medical Prize Awards” proceedings.

All three winning teams will have an opportunity to briefly present their results at Eurographics 2011, which means that at least one author of each winning team must attend to present the results.

The Program Committee



Anna Vilanova, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Katja Bühler, VRVis Center for Virtual Reality and Visualization Research, Austria


Scientific Committee

Marcel Breeuwer, Philips Healthcare, Netherlands

Charl Botha, TU Delft, Netherlands

Nigel W. John, Bangor University, United Kingdom

Jorge Juan Olsina Kissler, Universidad De Lleida/Hospital Universitario Arnau de Vilanova, Spain

Michael Meissner, Omnyx, United States

Jürgen Meixensberger, Universität Leipzig, Germany

Eike Nagel , Kings College London, United Kingdom

Bernhard Preim, Universität Magdeburg, Germany

Anders Ynnerman, Linköping University, Spain


Important Dates:

Submission Deadline: 22 November 2010
Notification: 21 January 2011
Submission of Final Short Papers: tba
Conference: 11-15 April 2011


Submission guidelines

Submitted written entries have to be presented as papers of up to 4 pages and must be formatted according to the Eurographics publication guidelines for Short Papers. The submission of complementary material like videos, demo applications, and references to additional publications of the authors, theses, etc .... is highly welcome!

Submissions will be made electronically through the Eurographics online submission system. Winning entries will be published in the Short Papers and Medical Prize proceedings, on CD-ROM/DVD conference proceedings, and the EG Digital Library.

For any question concerning medical prize submissions please contact the medical prize co-chairs.



Biotronics 3D


Morgan Kaufmann

Eurographics - European Association for Computergraphics